04 May 15 – 100kg Clean & Jerk! A PR and HELL YES!!

BOOM!!!! YES!!!

Finally!

100kg Clean & Jerk!!

On a lazy Sunday, in the garage with the old York bar and a mix of vinyl and metal plates.  This has been a long time coming and is a mental hurdle now overcome. Sure, I know I’ll probably take an initial step backwards (unless I can repeat this very soon) but it’s been done now. I have Clean and Jerked 100kg. Not only that but it was done tidily and with good form.

10426127_817301661658554_4085569395384670514_n

 

I had about 90 mins to spare today and having not done a WOD yesterday or day before (although Gorge Walking was awesome!), I decided to get in to the garage and work on form. Starting from scratch, I performed the Burgener Warm Up 3 times, a few Transfer Skills Exercises and then moved in to:

3 x (50kg)

  • 3 x 1st Pull
  • 3 x Knee to High Hang
  • 1 x High Hang Clean

3 x (50kg)

  • 1 x 1st Pull
  • 1 x Knee to Hi Hang
  • 3 x High Hang Clean
  • 3 x Push Jerk

Starting with 70kg, I then moved up in single reps through:

70 / 70 / 70 / 80 / 80 / 80 / 85 / 85 / 85 / 90 / 92.5 / 95 / 100

With each rep, I felt stronger and tidier, getting good hip extension and nice core-to-extremity delivery. What I have now changed and incorporated, having not seen this in any book but from Nick R in the USA, is good breathing. As I would with a Squat, I now take in a breath and hold it hard down in the belly during the first pull. This keeps my form nice and tight through the initial lift. I then explosively exhale during the second pull and catch. To many, this would seem like common sense, I am sure, but I have never seen it written down anywhere nor coached; what a difference though! Keeping the core so tight really affects the power (which we know) but doing it using the breath is an added extra that I just wasn’t aware of.

The jerk portions were entirely sound. I was a little over-excited after Cleaning the 100kg and so the jerk was a little wobbly but it was strong and safe. I can still Jerk whatever I can Clean but then I do have a strong strict Press (above 80kg).

BOOM! What a day. I’ve been waiting for this for ages and know it was becoming a mental hurdle more than anything. However, it is done now and I know we can start pushing heavier.

Thank you to CrossFit Plymouth for the community and the programming, thank you to Nick R for the video reviews. Thank you to Mrs Nomad for putting up with my shit and thank you to the elder Nomads for the encouragement recently.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

