22 Apr 15 – More Gainz! Back Squats this time.

Hot on the heels of yesterday’s work, it was Back Squats this time. Once again, inside the base gym and mostly alone. In a repeat of a previous WOD (I think this is part of a mesocycle but I only hope it’s almost test week as this is tough!).

Strength

10 mins to a 2RM Back Squat:

10 x 60kg / 5 x 80 / 2 x 100 / 2 x 110 / 2 x 120 / 2 x 130 / 2 x 132.5

MY 1RM hovers somewhere about 135-140 and so this was a strong achievement. I’m very pleased with this result. Technique was pretty solid throughout although I can’t lie, there were 1 or 2 moments when my arse came up first and I found myself ‘unfolding’. I sought to rectify that straight away though and my final lifts were sound.

Then it was 3 x 2 @ 90% of the 2RM. For me then it was at 120kg. Again, these were all sound although I could feel the fatigue and jelly-legs setting in.

MetCon

  • EMOM 20
  • 1st min: 10 x Double KB Swing @ 18kg each, 10 x Wall Balls @ 7kg to 10′.
  • 2nd min: Max Effort Step Ups (20″) with the 2 KBs.
  • 3rd min: Max Effort Burpees
  • 4th min: Rest

In the interests of getting my Ego out of the equation (see yesterday’s post), I scaled this immediately. It was supposed to be 7 rounds with 20kg KBs and a 9kg Ball. There was no 9kg Ball available and I knew 7 rounds would be a step too far after the Back Squats. I believe my scores were:

  • 1st Round – 16 x Step Ups. 14 x Burpees
  • 2nd Round – 15 x Step Ups. 15 x Burpees
  • 3rd Round – 12 x Step Ups. 13 x Burpees
  • 4th Round – 10 x Step Ups. 13 x Burpees
  • 5th Round – 10 x Step Ups. 15 x Burpees

Scaling was the right option. My legs were completely spent and the step ups really slowed me right down. The double KB Swings and Wall Balls were all completed with at least 10s to spare in the minute but the step ups with 36kg was a beast and a struggle. In fact, the burpees felt like a rest in comparison; at the pace I took them, they really were too. 4s per Burpee approximately.

This was a tough day but I am happy with it. Seeing any strength numbers go up is a good day and it shows progression. Strength is my focus at the moment; I can work on MetCons in 4 months or so once the base level of strength has improved.

Leave a Reply

