21 Apr 15 – Gainz…well, some

In a repeat of a WOD from 07 Apr, we had Cleans, Jerks, Strict Presses and a little MetCon. Same as last time, it was back in the base gym only this time something changed I was able to shift much more weight. Who knows….perhaps it was because it was later in the day, perhaps because there was a room full of people, perhaps I’ve become a little stronger. Whatever, the scores don’t lie.

Strength

Every 90 secs x 5

  • 2 x Clean (77.5kg)
  • 1 x Jerk

On 07 Apr, I managed 5 x 75kg and knew there was a little more in the tank. I started with 77.5kg this time and finished the last round with 80kg. Yet more in the tank too so I’ll be hitting it harder next time around.

Then:

3 x 3 Strict Press

Instead of the 65kg that I pushed out last time, this time was a massive jump with 70kg throughout. I am very happy with this and reckon it’ll be 72.5kg next time.

MetCon

21-15-9 For Time:

  • Clean (Power or Full) @ 60kg
  • Ring Dips

Time: 9:58 Rx

This should have been scaled (how many times have I said that before?). I broke it all up far too much and struggled throughout. So why didn’t I scale it?

Ego. Always. I want to be better than I am and find it hard to execute even though I fully understand that scaling will ultimately lead to better gains.

Strength. I want to lift heavier weights as often as possible in order to build raw strength; it is a key weakness

Advanced Movements. I may not be the greatest athlete but I can do the more advanced movements competently. I don’t want to scale the likes of Ring Dips when they come up.

Mainly, however, EGO. At the end of the day, I have to get faster and push myself harder in the short, sharp MetCons – the phosphocreatine pathway. I should have scaled to 50kg and used the P-Bars for the Dips instead. Next time Gadget….Next time!

Leave a Reply

