16 Apr 15 – Tabata Kettlebell Swings in the Bright, Springtime Sunshine.

Up early this morning and with just a little time on my hands I had the chance to get outside and throw a 24kg Kettlebell around. This is definitely one of, if not THE, most versatile single piece of exercise equipment around and I’m coming to love it. In a perfect world, I would own a 32kg one but at such ridiculous prices it would be completely ludicrous; I’m quite sure I can find alternates when needed. However, I have a 24kg one here and it serves me well.

After spending about 15 mins or so sitting in the goblet squat position, working mobility and conducting some technique work on the Single Arm Clean & Snatch, I dove in to:

Tabata Kettlebell Swings (24kg)

8 x 20s on, 10s off.

As Hard As You Can!

Total: 99 Reps.

Not dropping below 12 reps, I managed a few 13s too. I have no benchmark for comparison on this one and Beyond The Whiteboard isn’t much help either. I do know that I pushed myself on this one though. It would have been easy to slow down and drop a rep or two here or there but I wasn’t going to let it happen. Still, could I have gone even harder? Possibly. This would rely on getting better in the technique and pulling the Kettlebell back down instead of simply allowing it to fall. Work to be done there.

The bright spring sunshine was a bonus this morning though and despite there being frost on the ground it was just great to get out. If there is time later then I have another WOD forming in my head that I want to try out. I am here to work though so perhaps it can wait until tomorrow ;o)

Leave a Reply

