23 Feb 15 – 4 days to the Open. Good start to the week.

With CrossFit Open 15 beginning on Fri 27 Feb, it’s now or never. I know I won’t achieve my goal of top 1/4 but I am now focussing on just maintaining the top 1/3 placing that I achieved last year. I’ve outlined why it will be very hard to assess this now that there is a Scaled division – many people are now going to opt for the scaled and it will skew the results for those measuring their progression by doing the RX versions. I therefore picked Beyond The Whiteboard as an assessment tool but this may also not work given that the same people doing the Open RX will log BTWB.com RX. I’m sure I’ll figure it out though.

This week began in great fashion though with praline coffee in my belly:

3 x 1 Snatch @ 80% 1RM, 60s Rest

60 / 60 / 60kg

80% of 70kg is 56kg but I know I can happily throw 60kg up now and so stuck with that. I should perhaps have pushed it harder but at that time of the morning it is so difficult to get the mobility required.

The second part of the WOD was:

2 x Max Effort Power Snatch @ 50% 1RM (35kg), 60s Rest

21 / 15

In true ‘me’ fashion, I dumped the bar too early on that first round. There was at least another 2 or 3 in there. On the second round I worked a little harder but still could have squeezed out another rep, I feel.

MetCon

8 rounds for time:

  • 10 x Thruster (40kg)
  • 10 x Push Up (Hand release)

Time: 14:52 RX

This was a really tough one on the shoulders but encouraged the correct use of the legs and hips for the Thrusters in order to relieve pressure caused by the HR Push Ups. My aim was sub-15 and that worked out, just. It was intentionally paced but I didn’t stop for water or to shake off. Everything was done close to max effort throughout. The Thrusters were unbroken in the first round but split in to 5s for all other 7 rounds. The HR Push Ups were unbroken for first 2 rounds but then split in to 5s (and less) for the remainder. I thoroughly enjoyed the pain of this one and know that I put a lot in to it.

It’s my plan now to get a WOD in on Tues and Wed before taking Thurs off prior to CF Open 15.1 which I will complete on Fri evening in CF Plymouth.

Leave a Reply

