Last Day of Jan Thrashing

image

After the disappointment yesterday, I gave myself a punishment / forfeit. Ignore the “30” after EMOM; I just had to put a number there. This was about as many rounds of 8 Burpee Box Jump Overs as I could do with decreasing rest. This kind of training is excellent VO2-max training; with a coordinated skill thrown in too, it becomes a beast.

So, Every Minute On The Minute (EMOM) of 8 x Burpee Box Jump Overs (24″).

The first 5 rounds were ok but I was starting to lose breathing control so I began inhaling on way to the floor and then exploding out on the way up. This settled me for 3 further rounds before I tripped on round 8 and almost piled in to the garage wall. Recomposing, I felt fatigued but knew I could get through 10 rounds. After 80 Burpees, I still had 15 secs in the minute so knew I had to complete at least 1 more round. Same after the 11th round…..and the 12th. I was close to vomiting but completed the 13th round with a single, solitary second left and my head span. Pausing for just 10 secs, I began jumping again. Of course, much slower now, I didn’t complete the minute but had achieved 4 good jump overs.

Total: 108 Burpee Box Jump Overs.

All in all, I kept working to the end. It hasn’t been completely true of other WODs recently and I can be happy with that. I’m not sure it’s even an encouraging score but it is repeatable in the future, should the sleet pish down on a weekend again.

On to a new week and foreign boxes again when I hit USA on Monday.

Leave a Reply

