30 Jan 15 – a few days off and…

After 3 days travelling long distance in a car, I was chomping at the bit to get back in to the box. Aside from a few short jogs, this week has been spare on the PT front. When I saw the WOD, a rerun of Open 13.1, I was genuinely excited. A combination Snatch / Burpee ladder, I remember the first time I did this with embarrassing clarity. It was back in CF Britannia in Portsmouth and I was being judged by Tony B. My form was dangerously shocking and I should have been stopped. I wasn’t though and managed a respectable score on the day. However, the Snatch had plagued me ever since. It has been a real source of concern and one I have tried hard to rectify. So when it came up again today, I was keen to give it another go.

Before we got to that, the strength portion was:

5×5 Back Squat @ 77% of 1RM

100/ 100 / 100 / 100 / 100

I should have been pushing 105kg and could have done throughout but wanted to save myself for the WOD. For was strong and I was content with the weight.

Open 13.1

17 min AMRepAP

40 x Burpees
30 x Power Snatch 35kg
30 x Burpees
30 x Power Snatch 60kg
20 x Burpees
As Many Snatch As Possible

I previously completed 114 reps, in to the middle of the 60kg round. This time, I failed once again to hit my already mediocre scores and came through with 109. Of some consolation, my Power Snatch form has definitely improved and I was content with that side of it. However, the Burpees slowed me right down and while form was good, I had nothing in the tank to string the Snatches together; I failed the first attempt and then all the others came in singles.

I don’t know if it was the back squats before hand, the lack of breakfast, 3 days on the road or a combination of all that and more but I had nothing to give.
I can only hope that when it comes to the Open in a month, I am able to prepare properly and invoke the ancient gods to give me strength.

My score this week on Beyond The Whiteboard is down from 67 to 64 but I am less concerned with that; I haven’t been doing many WODs that are recorded on there. The Open ones will be and I’ll be taking my Mean Average position from those 5 to assess my performance overall.

I have tried not to be too harsh on myself but I am as despondent as ever. I only set myself one physical challenge goal in the last 12 months and I’ve absolutely failed to achieve it. It’s a horrible feeling and I truly hate it. I have learned that in order to truly achieve in a hobby or sport, you have to really dedicate time to it. My sessions have dropped to an average of 3-4 per week in the last 6 months due to work, family and other higher priority commitments. It’s probably a success in itself that I’ve largely plateaued and not slumps too far. But I don’t see it that way.

Leave a Reply

