Tue 12 Jan 15 – Deadlifts, Front Squats, Power Snatch and TTB

10mins to work up to a 5Rm
Deadlift (all reps must be touch and go)

120 / 130 / 140 / 140 / 145

Apparently, my 5RM is 160kg but I don’t know how. This was an epic. While I perhaps could have added another 5kg, I don’t know how I could have done 160.

Front squat 4 x 2 @85-90% of 1Rm

100 / 105 / 105 / 107.5

The Front Squats continue to raise. This is pleasing.

21-15-9
Power Snatch @40kg
Toes To Bar

Time: 7:46

RX should have been 45kg but Snatches continue to blight my progression overall. This is something I have got to work on; speed under the bar is not good enough and I’ve yet to develop the confidence. Toes To Bar slowed me down; I didn’t push myself as hard as I should have done and my breathing went to shit. There was no control and I just let the pace get the better of me. I’m better than this and have been recently so nothing too much to worry about apart from the Snatches.

 

Regarding nutrition, I’m finding mornings to be pretty good. Having said that, this was an evening session. However, in the mornings I’m taking on enough protein, a handful of nuts and a big mug of coffee. This sets me up, especially with the enhanced group sizes that appear to be coming to the morning sessions now. Since the beginning of Jan, I have avoided chocolate, significantly reduced all alcohol intake (I had the gluten free beer last weekend) and completely withdrawn all starchy carb intake. At the end of the month, depending on the effect, I shall start to bring some back in to complement that training.

Leave a Reply

