11 Nov 14 – Remembrance Day, not a Remembrance WOD

For the UK, it is Armistice Day; the end of the Second World War. For a serviceman like me it is a time to reflect on the roles others have played before us and the responsibility we have to ensure we maintain the standards and commitment they upheld. We held our service in the pouring rain, with howling winds, overlooking a very dark, grey and stormy harbour. It was a clear and present reminder of the conditions our ancestors faced as they set off from the UK to invade France and, as the Kohima Epitaph reads, gave their tomorrow for our today.

On to today.

Back in the main gym today, all alone once more. I so wanted to ignore the Outlaw CrossFit programming but manned-up and wrote it down. I had to substitute some elements because we don’t have anywhere to set up rings here. Not only that but my muscle ups are not where they should be by now due to lack of time on the rings while aboard ship. I did follow the Lifting parts, however, and took yesterday’s too.

Lifting

5 x 5 Hang Snatch

50 / 50 / 55 / 55 / 60

5 x 5 Hang Clean & Jerk

70 / 70 / 75 / 80 / 85

Metabolic Conditioning

3 Rounds For Time:

5 x Power Snatch 42.5kg

7 x Burpees to 6” Mark

15 x Pull Ups (scaled down from 5 x Muscle Ups to Pull Ups and Dips)

15 x Dips

7 x Burpees

5 x Power Snatch

2min Rest

Total Working Time: 12:58

I won’t labour over the Snatch or Clean & Jerk weights. I’ve done that enough. I know I have to work on them. If I was willing to settle for poor shoulder form then I’m sure I would be throwing up higher weights but I’m not and am trying hard to maintain externally rotated shoulders in the Snatch. As for the Cleans, I have some mental block and it just needs to be smashed out of the way; I’ll get that done, I know it.

The MetCon was very tough. The Power Snatches were done with Excellent Form and unbroken throughout. Enough on those! The Burpees were taken at an even pace although undoubtedly could have been much faster but this was paced throughout. The Pull Ups were a bit of a nightmare. Where I lost all the skin beneath my right middle finger, it reopened during yesterday’s Kettlebell Swings and was in agony for the Pull Ups today. I couldn’t get a good grip and couldn’t string more than 5 together at once. Nightmare. The Dips were much harder than I had expected them to be but having remembered the lifting I did beforehand, perhaps I shouldn’t be too hard on myself.

The 3 rounds were: 3:55, 4:57, 4:06. That middle round REALLY slowed down and I knew I had to pick up the pace for the third, going all out until the end.

Leave a Reply

