10 Nov 14 – Great Start to the Week with Big Squats and a tidy MetCon

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawn!!!

Streeeeeeeeeeeeetch!!!

Yep, it was up at 0545 again today for a WOD at 0615. I always enjoy my little drive at that time of the morning because it only takes 7 mins maximum. Any other time of the day and that route will take up to 20 mins, easily.

I check the WOD online last night, just to make sure I was taking the right kit, and I was pretty happy with it. It’s amazing the effect it can have just by actively forcing yourself to be positive about something. Front Squats, Push Presses and a great 21-15-9 were all on the cards.

Weights

5 x 5 Front Squats

80 / 85 / 90 / 90 / 95

5 x 5 Push Press

65 / 70 / 70 / 75 / 80

MetCon

21-15-9 For Time:

Burpees

Box Jumps (30”)

Kettlebell Swings (32kg)

Time: 10:01 RX (Level 3 in CFP speak)

Yes, I know, I know!! Had I seen the clock I could have shaved 2 seconds off and snuck in under 10mins. However, I am still very happy with this one. I was determined from the outset to smash last week’s Front Squat scores and I did that with ease today. Last week’s Push Press finished with an 85kg but they were 5 x 3, not 5 x 5 and so I am also very happy with these ones. To be honest, I think I could have added 5kg to the Front Squats but that is one for next week.

The MetCon felt great. The first round of burpees were fast and unbroken, as was the last. The 15 were broken in to 10/5. I knew it didn’t matter if I went off too fast because those extra high box jumps were going to slow me down anyway; not because of me being gassed but the height of the box itself means you have to take a bit of extra care getting on and off. These were all unbroken though for all rounds. The Kettlebells Swings were actually easier than I had prepared for. The first 21 were unbroken although I had to break down the second round in to 8/7. The last round was unbroken though. Finishing in 10:01 is a big plus and I feel a lot more comfortable working at a higher pace now. Ok, so I still have issues with heavy lifting but I think the muscular endurance has started to improve quite considerably. Let’s see what next week’s Athlete Games bring!

Leave a Reply

