23 Oct 14 – Squats, Deadlifts, Sore Butt Cheeks and DOMS.

First day back in the gym after 2 days off. Why is that after just 2 days I feel that I’ve been out for a week and that somehow all my gains will be lost? Are we that addicted to the amazing effects that CrossFit has on us? YES! And it’ a good thing.

So, today was the Outlaw CF WOD from today.

Barbells:

4 x 5 Back Squat at 80% of 5RM.

2 min Rest in between

Warm Up

5 x 60

5 x 60

5 x 80

WOD

4 x 5 x 92.5kg (80% of 115kg)

I am very happy with the muscular endurance improvements that I’ve made in the last 2 months. Dedicated time on board ship has really helped and whenever I get the opportunity for a few weeks of multiple sessions (carefully planned) per day then it needs to be taken. I know I can’t maintain that kind of volume in the longer term but for 2-3 week bursts it would appear to be most beneficial.

MetCon:

For Time:

50’ Handstand Walk

21-15-9 of:

Deadlift (75kg)

Push Press (35kg)

50’ Handstand Walk

Time: 7:03.

The RX version of this was a 100kg Deadlift and 45kg Push Press. Knowing how I recently performed on Diane (Deadlifts and HSPU) helped here. For the sake of Diane, I am willing to do RX and benchmark a score. However, for the purposes of a swift MetCon, I knew that I would not be able to maintain the required intensity by going RX. Therefore, I worked at 75% of the weight (seeing as top 25% of the CF community is where I am aiming for). This proved a very wise call as I was able to crack almost everything completely unbroken but at ‘strain’. The first 50’ was unbroken in 30secs and this gave me immense confidence. Ploughing through the barbell work in another 4mins 15secs was equally pleasing but the final 50’ HS Walk was my downfall. I couldn’t string together more than a few feet at a time and it was all CNS-based. I could ‘feel’ not being able to fire in the correct way. It wasn’t specifically balance, accuracy, strength…..it was this weird mixture where my brain just couldn’t compute the requirement and fire the muscles in the right way. Of course, this is exactly what CrossFit is all about and something to work on. All in all though, happy with today. I’m looking forward to CF Plymouth at 0615 tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

