14 Oct 14 PM – CrossFit Plymouth First Session

With quite a bit of excitement, I turned up at CrossFit Plymouth for my first official session. Having possibly misread the website, I was expecting a 45min epic of a WOD but was pleasantly surprised to see 2 sets of lifting and an 8min AMRAP that suited me quite well. The coach, Ben, is someone I actually know a little from the past and while I am definitely 100% not there to coach, he let me crack on with the guys I was with, gently coaching them as we went through:

  • 5 x 5 Back Squat
  • 5 x 5 Shoulder Press (Strict)

Back Squat Results: 70, 80, 90, 100, 115

Shoulder Press (Strict) Results: 50, 55, 60, 65, 75 (failed on 5th rep so dropped and did 1 at 70kg)

The guys I was training with were all very enthusiastic and there was a superb buzz about the class.

The WOD was:

8min AMRAP:

  • 10 x Pull Ups
  • 10 x Handstand Push Up
  • 10 x Power Clean @ 60kg

Total: 3 Rounds + 18 RX

I really wanted to get through 3 rounds, having seen the scores on the boards from earlier in the day. I achieved that with some to spare but wasted a little time on the Pull Ups. That said, I am always hard on myself and know that I gave it close to 100% throughout the whole thing. Butterfly Kips on the Pull Ups have really come along; performing them on a static bar is quite a novelty after the death trap bar on ship! I motored through the Pull Ups in a way I’ve not done before. The HSPUs were done as a mix of strict and kipping throughout; always starting strict and then moving in to kips when unable to keep going. The Power Cleans were where I really slowed down though and this is indicative of my lack of muscular endurance in this area. I need to build a strong strength/stamina base before getting in to the Open next year.

I’ll be going to CFP every Tuesday evening and either Thursday or Friday mornings, depending on schedule. It’s good to be back amongst like-minded athletes especially when I’m not coaching and can concentrate on my own gains for a bit.

Leave a Reply

