01 Oct 14 – Lots of Lifting Today

Due to Ship’s Duties, I was unable to complete the MetCon that I wanted to do today but I did manage to get in 3 weights workouts outstanding from earlier.

5 x 1 2-Position Clean & Jerk (Hang Clean & Jerk then Power Clean & Jerk)

60, 60, 65, 70, 80kg

4 x 5 Back Squat, Heavy but not maximal (which means there’s probably more to come!)

80, 80, 80, 80kg

Clean 5-5-3-3-3-1-1-1-1

50, 60, 70, 70, 70, 85, 85, 85, 90

When totalled up, including the warm up, that’s a lot of lifting! By the end, I was struggling with the 90kg Clean and I was a little disappointed because I’ve still not surpassed by 95kg 1RM but after the previous lifts it’s not surprising or unexpected. Technique has been a real boost on this trip; because of my elbow issue I had to go back to basics (again) and this time I really think it has been beneficial. Ok, so the strength gains don’t appear to have come as quickly as they should have but I am much safer and much more efficient now; they will come in time.

Leave a Reply

