17 Sept 14 Part II – Front Squats, the new 1RM and 3 x Tabata

New Personal Record in the Front Squat 1RM of 115kg!! (+5kg increase)

The WOD was 3 x 8 Front Squats with a pause of 3 secs at the bottom, resting 2 mins in between each set.

Like last week, this was insanely tough. 50kg is about the best I can manage at this while maintaining form. I was baggage at the end…..or so I thought. Like last week, I decided to test out my 1RM too. On went 80kg, then 90, 100 and I jumped straight to 115kg. SMASH! Yes! It was tough but, dare I say it, I could have lifted another 2.5 – 5kg.

Next time, Bar!!! Next time!!!!

Going on from that, I could have walked out of the gym, especially after a pretty good session this morning. However, I was feeling on form and so jumped in to Outlaw CF WOD of:

  • Tabata Kettlebell Swings (24kg)
  • Tabata Air Squats
  • Tabata Sit Ups (AbMat)

All back to back. Scores were:

  • 96 x KB Swings
  • 127 x Air Squats
  • 97 x Sit Ups

All were unbroken and damned it hurt but yes, it was fun! Sure, they are a little of any Tabata records that I have but I’m not expecting to PR a Front Squat and then do back-back-back Tabatas, getting PRs in it all.

A good day! Tomorrow morning will be a very short session only and then we’ll see what happens over the next few days.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

