15 Sept 14 – Short, Sharp and Heavy

Crawling out of bed at 6am is getting less and less easy. Shortly, my training partner will disappear too and so I’ll have to start finding other incentives to get my arse out of bed. Thankfully, I am seeing genuine improvements and that is motivation in itself. After yesterday’s Power Clean & Push Jerks, I just want to get back under a barbell again but that will have to wait until this evening.

For this morning, after being forced in to a bit of a tweak due to lack, we had:

EMOM

5 x Burpees

5 x Upright Row w/ 32kg Kettlebell (dipping only 2 inches in order to generate violent hip extenstion)

5 x KB Thrusters (32kg)

I am a little disappointed in myself because I completed 5 rounds, had 3 seconds of the minute left and should have pushed for another round but was close to vomiting (still very hot and fumey down there) and stopped.

Matt just….about….squeezed in the final thruster at the end of the 5th minute.

With a bit of a change around on ship, the gym will be much emptier at that time of time and I’ll have much better opportunity to get a decent night’s sleep too. I’ve slackened ‘a little’ on nutrition by allowing myself 2 desserts this week as well as a 1 or 2 beers (not more than that). While it’s unlikely to have much of an effect, I need to ensure treats like that remain just treats.

Still taking high strength fish oil and this is having a good effect on general inflammation, pain relief and mobility. It’s amazing to realise that this one supplement really can have such a beneficial effect; more fish required in my diet, I think!

At this time, I don’t know what the Outlaw CF WOD is for today but will achieve it regardless. With luck, I should be able to get the rings up somewhere useful later today and start working on muscle-ups, ring dips and gymnastic movements.

1 Comment

  1. I am simply shocked that you wasted 3 whole seconds…… come on BBB relax a little, you did really well, stop beating yourself up!

    Also 2 puddings in a week is not exactly a lot, especially when you do not have all the home comforts.

    You are doing really well, do not be hard on yourself xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

