04 Sept 14 – Clean & Jerks, Burpee Box Jumps and Kettlebell Swings…..in the vehicle deck, where it is hot.

Although I only managed to fit in one session today, I think I got value for time and money.

Following yesterday’s run up the Rock, today was about getting back in to the Outlaw CF programming properly.

  • 15mins to a 5 x 1 Clean & Jerk

Then For Time:

  • 1:30 Handstand Hold
  • 5 Rounds of:
  • 15 x Burpee Box Jumps
  • 15 x Kettlebell Swings
  • End with:
  • 1:30 Handstand Hold

Total Time: 14:40 inc. Handstand Holds (3 mins).

Lifts: 75 / 75 / 75 / 75 / 75kg

RX was a 24kg KB and a 24” box but I had neither and so used 20” and 20kg.

The C&J should have been Hand Clean & Jerk but coming back to this after so long out and with the elbow still tingling, I decided to work complete form and start each one from the floor with a 5 sec rest in between. Happily, there was only a very minor niggle from the elbow and I threw 75kg up with ease; I know I will have lost some strength but I hope it starts to come back quickly.

The floor in the lifting area is made up of the hard-compressed black mats which, although jigsawed together they still move and are spongey underfoot. Not ideal but a working solution. The cleans themselves got better as I progressed while the only thing of significance that I need to change in the jerks is the rear foot; the ‘give’ in the surface resulted in the rear foot twisting and landing laterally instead of almost parallel to the front foot (appreciating the slight turn in the front foot).

When it came to the MetCon, I could only find a weights bench of 20” and a Kettlebell of 20kg. There are plenty of 32kg but that’s of no use in something like this. I maintained a good, even and unbroken pace throughout the burpees while all KB Swings were unbroken. The initial Handstand Hold was unbroken but the final one was a 60s, 16s, 14s with 5sec pauses in between. I must start to speed up the burpees but I am genuinely slowed down by the slipperyness of the deck itself.

Regardless, it is good to be back lifting a bar and I’m having fun with it. If I can get back in two 2 sessions a day as of tomorrow then I’ll be able to really focus on the lifts, recover and then crack a strong MetCon.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

