22 Jul 14 – Royal Marines Basic Fitness Test

5 x Pull Ups (Deadhang with a pause at top and bottom)

50 x Sit Ups (Military Style)

1.5 miles Run as a squad in 15 mins

1.5 miles Run Individual Best Effort = 9min 39secs

All in Combat Boots, Combat Trousers, Belt and T-Shirt.

 

This is actually one of my fastest times for this event. It may actually be my fastest ever time and I’ve been doing it since I was 18 – I am now 35 years old. Technically, I only now have to do 3 Pull Ups, 40 Sit Ups and the Best Effort 1.5mile Run in 13mins but there’s no way that was going to happen.

Weather is goddamn outstanding too – 24C, humid and bright sunshine. They pay us for this!!

My sleep is still out of sync after America but I am going to try and rectify that this evening; any ideas? Having said that, although I awoke at 5, I put the clock back down and fell in to the black hole of sleep for another hour or so. Breakfast was a handful of mixed nuts and dried fruit; that reminds me, I need to take my fish oils. Getting a lot of water in at the moment, especially with this heat.

Next week I will be in France. No WiFi. I know, I know….how will you cope?! I tell you what, I’ll follow Bodeefit.com and post all the results as I get back.

Which is best……red or white? and which cheeses should I have with that?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

