8 mile Basic Combat Fitness Test

8 miles, 45lb plus a 9lb rifle, plus water.
1hr 50mins to 2hrs to complete it.

This is a standard Royal Marines / Infantry combat fitness test, and is arduous only in the tedium and boredom. We completed this in 1hr 55mins dead on. I did this two weeks ago on my own and completed it in 1hr 41mins with the probability of at least 3mins faster but for the pit stop where I had to fashion a belt from paracord!

I’d forgotten how tiring this test is later in the day. With a 4hr drive ahead of me, there was a dire need for Monster Rehab to keep me awake. Nutrition was fucked. Caffeine, sandwiches, chicken mcnuggets……long drives are my weakness and I just eat shit. I have to get over this and resist the urge to boredom eat. Any ideas for little snacks to keep me feeling full and I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

